Restricted access to VLAN network

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to the Peplink family of products. I have recently configured a Pepwave Surf SOHO MK3 device that is running firmware version 8.0.0 build 1429.

I have setup 2 VLANs. The first is for “trusted devices” (VLAN 10) and the second is for “untrusted devices” (VLAN 20). I have unchecked the option for inter-VLAN communication as I don’t wish to allow devices on either network to communicate.

I have also configured 2 WiFi SSIDs that have been assigned to each of the respective VLANs.

I have a requirement to allow communication of selected devices on VLAN 10 to nominated devices on VLAN 20. For example, I have 2 devices on VLAN 10 that need to be able to communicate to a single device on VLAN 20.

The devices on VLAN 10 are both wired and wireless and the device on VLAN 20 is wireless.

What configuration do I need to enable on the Peplink SOHO router?

This is a bit over my head, but I believe the internal firewall rules are what you need. Or, if the communication is rare, then have a wifi device switch vlans by switching SSIDs.

1 Like

Thanks Michael. It would be valuable to know how to configure the internal firewall rules. I have attempted to implement it by specifying all ports, the source (VLAN 10 IP address e.g. 192.168.50.11) and destination (VLAN 20 IP address e.g. 192.168.51.100) addresses, however it fails. For example, I am unable to ping or reach the device.

To start– make sure you have disabled Inter-VLAN routing. Navigate to Network > LAN > Network Settings > LAN > [VLAN 10|20] > Network Settings > Inter-VLAN routing. Disable the option, click the Save button then Apply Changes.

You need to disable this option so it does not conflict with the rules you are setting with the internal firewall.

====================================