Move groups to a new organisation, maintianing SpeedFusion tunnels

Hello IC2 Team,
We are submitting a feature request to support moving groups to new Organisations (including existing organisations) while maintaining the SpeedFusion Tunnels built using InControl2.

We have had many situations, including several PoC projects, where we have developed complex SpeedFusion/VLAN setups that are now proven reliable. The tunnels cannot be easily torn down and recreated because devices are not always online, and because they have Layer 2 configurations within those tunnels that can currently only be provisioned on the router when the router is online (a current limitation of InControl2).

The way we see it, Peplink & the InControl2 systems support this: the devices within the group to be moved have their SpeedFusion tunnel(s) automatically re-created, so the devices in the group appear the same as “Manually Added Devices,” retaining all configuration and security settings before the “Move to New Organisation” is done.

Another way could be that when moving the group, the group is first automatically set, under “InControl Options”, “Disable Device Configuration on” to “All Devices”, pre-capturing the previous details for restoration once the move has completed.

I have written about the concepts and challenges of this in previous posts at:

What I’m seeking to do is support the evolution of this feature.

Opening this up to contributing thoughts from our Peplink Forum Community members who have also had experiences around moving groups and devices between organisations.

Have a good week,
Marcus :slight_smile: