MAX BR1 Mini Serial Port

Hello all,

This is my first time using peplink systems and hopefully you can give me a hand with the following problem:

I am experiencing troubles to stablish communication with a serial device that is behind the BR1 Mini/ACW-411 port adapter (a laptop running hyperterminal, so far).

I can reach the BR1 Mini form the LAN on the PEPLINK Balance 580 side to enter into the configuration interface of the remote BR1 Mini. I can also read the GPS stream from BR1 Mini port 60660 on a Putty telnet connection. But something (probably something stupid) I am missing or doing wrong in relation with the serial port or its configuration because I have failed so far sending/receiving data to/from the remote serial device (the laptop running hyperterminal) behind the BR1 Mini.

Wiring of the RJ45-DB9 cable was done according to the guidelines shared here in the forum by two different members. I am very familiar with serial communications, so serial configuration parameters on both sides, the BR1 and the terminal, are the same… The Putty TCP Client connects well to the IP/Port of the BR1 but nothing further happens at the serial port end when typing data.

If any of you guys have a comment or an idea to get me on the right track, that is appreciated in advance.

Thanks

The first thing I would do is remove the laptop from the equation on the BR1 side (I’ll make the assumption that it is Windows based). Connect a router or switch to the console port instead and try to access it from the 580 side. I’ve never used the port adapter so I’m not sure how it is configured but I do know that Windows has a history of screwing with things if the settings/drivers are not right (like changing COM port numbers for no reason). If the router/switch responds, you know it’s something with the laptop and not the BR1 config. If the router/switch do not respond, you way want to look deeper at the BR1/adapter config.