FusionHub Solo link established but no internet connectivity

Since some weeks I own a Balance One. It is connected with two fibre links to my two ISP’s, a local ISP (150 mbps up/down) and T-Mobile (100 mbps up/down). I would like to use FusionHub Solo since I am a home working IT freelancer who needs a reliable connection and good quality video conferencing, but also to mitigate the fact that the local ISP is somewhat less reliable than T-Mobile and drops VOIP connections every now and then, to my wife’s frustration.

When I configured FusionHub Solo through InControl2 all worked right away. But, since I own and manage only one Peplink device, I have no use case to pay for InControl2 after the first free year so I am now learning to understand FusionHub config and am trying to get FusionHub Solo up and running without using IC2’s magic. And that’s where the problem starts… I get FusionHub running and connecting (green lights on the WAN interface) but I have no internet connectivity. When I would configure through IC2 I do get internet connectivity on FusionHub. My FusionHub instance is running in DigitalOcean’s cloud.

Here’s some of my config:

Local

Outbound policies

Dashboard

System information

FusionHub DigitalOcean

Notes and questions on the outbound policies:

• The FusionHub rule is disabled now, as soon as I enable it (or choose “Send all traffic to” in VPN > PepVPN) then I loose internet connectivity.
  • The VOIP rule seems to be mandatory. Because when I had FusionHub working through IC2, VOIP was not connecting without that rule.
  • Is the HTTPS Persistance rule still needed once I get FusionHub working?
  • There’s no firewall configured in DigitalOcean.

My question: Which step did I miss?
CC @MartinLangmaid

On the Balance, if you go to Status - > Speedfusion and look at the Fusionhub profile there do your WANs show as green?

If you run a VPN speedtest using the inbuilt tool (red arrow above) what throughput do you get down and up?

1 Like