VLAN for a VM for better internet speed?

Question:

I have a Windows 10 Virtual Machine running on a Synology DS 1517+ this NAS has 4 LAN ports.

When I use this VM with windows remote desktop and browse the internet, I notice that the performance is quite weak. Running a Speedtest from that browser in the VM confirmed that the download speed is only a fraction of what is available while the upload speed is pretty close.

Since everything is running over the same port on the VM hardware, I am wondering if I could resolve the matter by creating a VLAN on my Peplink Balance One and use that for the virtual machine by assigning the VLAN IP address to the Windows 10 network adapter.

I gave it a brief try, but it failed to connect to the WAN.

This is my first time experimenting with a VLAN and before I spend to much time in solving my problem, I am wondering if this is the best way to approach this problem.

Reason for best possible internet access from this virtual machine is that I have some cases where a SaaS-only works in a Microsoft Explorer under MS Windows. Currently, I am installing Fusion on all the individual computers. My goal is to create a couple of VM’s that can be shared and centrally managed…

Thanks in advance for your help!

Rogier

Just to confirm the VLAN 10 defined for you VM Window 10 is “Access Port” or “Tag/Trunk port” ? Do you try before to define Balance One LAN port to “port access” or VLAN 10" to test on the connection ? If VM PC port is “access port” then Balance LAN port connected to the VM PC need to in “Port Type : Access”, else if VM PC port is tag/trunk then you need to make sure Balance LAN port connected to the VM PC is in “Port Type : Trunk”.

1 Like

Guess the question really is where is the speed bottleneck?