Specify a ip range to use wan1 or wan2

HI Guys newbie here,

on the Peplink Balance one can you specify a ip range to use wan1. so for example I want 192.168.0.5 - 192.168.0.50 to use wan1 and 192.168.0.60 - 192.168.0.78 to use wan2.

Is this possible to manually set internal ip to use a specified wan ports.

if so how is this done?

Hi kirpan,

if you seperate your LAN with subnetting or different LAN-Adresses, this is possible.
You can not give the Range from 0.5 to 0.50, but with the subnetmask it’s possible.

For the Priority Order you can find very good Informations here in the Forum

So build two Outbound-Policy-Roules - and that’s it.

Regards
Dennis

2 Likes

Hi,

thank you for your reply. If I set up a outbound policy rule how do I specify which Wan it should use?

Also how can I specify ip range from 192.168.0.188 to 192.168.0.254 via a subnet mask?

you mentioned to use a different lan range however how can i do this. I have viop phones which I would like to use via wan 2 so how do I have 2 different ip ranges on 1 pepline router.

I can program the phones to 192.168.1.X on a static ips but how would the router recognised them when the gateway would be 192.168.1.1 and the router is 192.168.0.1 on a DHCP.

Hi,

you can select the WAN-Port in the Priority Order. So if you want to make it fix - select “enforced” and WAN1 for example. (I would use it with priority, because if one WAN-connection failed the devices are still online).
As I’ve written in my first post, in the Forum is an explanation for that. I searched it for you Understanding and Configuring Outbound Policy

How to specify the range … use http://www.subnet-calculator.com/ for that.

Leave the phones in the /24 network, only select it for the outbound roule - that should be enough (I never tested that - but I think it works)

Regards
Dennis

1 Like

Many thanks Dennis, ok, I think I kinda understand.