Slower speeds when connecting through Balance20 vs. directly to modem

Good afternoon. I recently upgraded my internet service to Time Warner Cable’s Wideband service. When I connect directly to the modem, I get the promised speeds of 35x5. However, when I connect through my Peplink router, which is then connected to a Cisco gigabit switch, I’m only getting 17x5. Now, I’m no expert on how to configure this router, I know the basics. I’ve ripped through all of the settings and can’t decide why I’m not getting the faster speeds.

I know this is tough to troubleshoot without knowing my settings, but is there somewhere I should start to try and figure out what the problem might be?

Thank you

Sounds like you have the classic model Balance 20 device, it is several years old and back then 5Mbps Cable was considered extremely fast. It was rated for up to 20Mbps max throughput.

The current Balance 20, which is in a metal enclosure vs plastic is rated for 100Mbps throughput.

Thank you Tom for the quick response! I’ll order a new one.

Thanks Anthony! You will love your new Balance 20 :slight_smile:

I just received my new Balance 20, and it is working like a charm. 35mbps speeds and easy setup. Thanks again for the information.

That’s awesome Anthony, enjoy!!

I bought my balance 20 a few months ago from amazon, it has a metal casing, I connect directly to the modem, I get the promised 15/1 speed, as soon as I connect the balance 20, it goes down to around 3.5/1, what could be causing this?

I am combining two speeds, 10/1 and 15/1, when I try them connecting the modems directly to my computer, I get very close to those speeds, when I connect to the PB 20, they combine to a very slow 5/1.8 connection.

I would ensure that the device is on 5.4.9 firmware or higher. If the issue is still persistent please open a support ticket and we can certainly dive in deeper. http://cs.peplink.com/contact/support/