Site to site vpn just saying connecting

Hi,

I am new to using peplink devices and also creating VPNS.

I have 2 balance 310s (one at each location) one balance 310 is connected to a modem router in bridge mode and picks up the correct ip address for the broadband connection and the LAN works fine with internet access.

The second is connected a lease line and also has internet connection and the LAN is working.

I want to create a site to site VPN between the devices, I have created the vpn connection on each device and input the serial number and public IP address for device 1 on device 2 and device 2 on device 1.

All I am getting on the dashboard of the peplink device is connecting? is there anything I need to change or have done incorrectly? one site is on static IP on the peplink the other is on PPPoe if that makes a difference??

any help would be appreciated I understand its a very simple task but being new to this kind of thing.

thanks

First of all update both Balance 310’s to the latest GA firmware release (6.2.2).

When you got to Network > Speedfusion in the Webui you should see the PepVPN Local ID field. Use this ID as the remote ID in the VPN profile of the other device rather than the serial number.

We would normally identify one device as the VPN server and the other the VPN client when it comes to creating a VPN connection. The difference is down to which device initiates the VPN connection.

A Peplink device can only initiate a PepVPN connection if it knows what the other Peplink device’s public IP address is. So in a typical configuration you would have one Balance (A) with a VPN profile configured that just has the remote Balance’s (B) PepVPN ID and not the remote balance public IP in the settings - this device (A) then waits for incoming VPN connections from the other Balance (B). Then on the remote device (B)you enter the first devices (A) PepVPN ID and its public IP too. Then the remote device B will initiate the VPN to A.