RVer looking to upgrade to pepwave

we are full time RVers, using a Verizon 8800L with a visible sim. Plus ATT on my iPhone ( hotspot). This mostly works.

im looking to upgrade to something more reliable and with 5g capability.

is a pepwave a good choice? Any input from the community is appreciated. ( alternatives could include: mofi, insty, hotspot, etc…)

Jerry,
Have been full timing & working from RV since December, 2019. If you have not done so, I would encourage you to go to the Mobile Internet Resource Center. They provide a variety of resources & reviews on equipment & data plans that can be very informative.
I have been using a Peplink Max Transit CAT-18 since May, 2020 & have found it to be more than adequate for my needs. I have yet to install my external antenna as the paddle antennas work very well. However, I’ve yet to camp/boon dock in locations where signal strength would be suspect.
I use an AT&T data plan from a 3rd party reseller & multiple Verizon data only plans. With these data plans, the CAT-18 was essentially a plug & play set up. The UI was very intuitive.
From my perspective, cellular modem/router capabilities have far outpaced what the US carriers are willing/able to provide at this point in time. Product certification for use on US carriers can also be problematic, especially with 5G service.
I would also encourage you to look at the forums of the other products you are considering. Information , or lack thereof, should provide some insight into the issues users are experiencing & what type of support you can expect to receive from the manufacturer or the use community.
Finally, as I understand it, 1st level support for Peplink products is handled by the selling partner of the Peplink product. Some do it better than others.
Good luck in your search.

2 Likes

Peplink is a great product, one of the most widely used by RV’ers and Boaters.