Port Settings for Xbox One

Hello,

I am currently running the Pepwave MK2 and am having trouble with online gaming. I am unable to change the NAT type from ‘Strict’ to ‘Open’ on the Xbox. I have forwarded the ports as seen in the screenshot below, but it seems that was not enough to change the NAT type.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Hi Jack, welcome to the community!

Is your WAN Interface IP a public one?

Thanks

Thanks for the welcome!

How would I go about checking that? Sorry I am a novice when it comes to this.

Hi Jack,

Hit the website ipchicken.com It will tell you what the internet sees your IP as. Then compare it to the one you see on your Peplink dashboard. If they are the same, then you have a public IP and it’s just a matter of changing settings. If they are different, then it becomes very complicated.

As a note, I’m a fellow Xbox gamer and you can achieve open nat now with just port 3074 UDP, nothing else is needed anymore :-). I had all those same rules in my peplink for 4 months and had logging turned on… only one port is used now. The change appears to have been made in 2017 so you can have multiple Xboxes in one household.

1 Like

Have you tried fully restarting the Xbox after applying the port forwards? I spent literally hours on this only to discover the Xbox One is weird and had to be fully powered down (hold down the power button till it turns off all the way) and then powered back up. As soon as I did that it showed Open NAT. Super annoying.

Unfortunately, the IP showing up through the link you provided is not the same as what my Pepwave Dashboard is showing. Is there a way to change it to a public IP? Hopefully not all hope is lost.
I also tried fully powering down the Xbox with no luck.

What kind of internet service do you have?