Pi-Hole network ad/tracker blocker - rebinding?

I’m installing a Raspberry Pi Pi-Hole server on my Surf SOHO Mk3 v8.01 network and am unable to have the Surf show the Pi as DNS.

The router accepted the entry on each LAN/VLAN page. In Network/Network Settings/ , I disabled “Assign DNS server automatically” and added the Pi DNS address. Tests show the DNS address did not change for the connected devices - the Surf still uses the default gateway for my main internal LAN instead of the Pi IP address. (It’s DHCP Reservation, so basically static.)

The Pi has good connectivity (I can ssh into the Pi), but the Pi and the other devices on the network show different DNS values (“scutil --dns” and “nslookup” ). The Pi-Hole install opened ports 53 and 80 in my firewall. Both are on /24 subnet.

Again, I’m a newbie at this, but is this a case of “rebinding,” and if so, how do I get around it? Do I have to resort to “IP Passthrough” and also hand off the DHCP function?

1 Like

Hi. We have several PiHoles in use and have not had that issue. Have you tried “releasing” the clients? Like … Turn DHCP off on the SOHO and disconnect one of your clients. Turn DHCP back on again and instruct the client to reconnect. Any luck?

And, just to make sure … PiHoles can also serve as DHCP server. You have that disabled, right? (I’m sure you do but thought I might ask.)

1 Like

Rick,

Thank you - I wonder if you could be a little more verbose, please. There are several “Enable DHCP” checkmark locations - on the main WAN page and one each of the tagged and untagged VLAN pages.

Yes, I verify I am not using Pi-Hole’s DHCP.

Hi. I don’t have access to a SOHO at the moment but I’m pretty certain that setting for all the Pepwaves are in roughly the same location. For a Max BR1 it is at Network → LAN → DHCP Server → Enable. Do you see something like this …?

1 Like