Pepwave Surf SOHO Mk3 admin crashes 2x

I know little about tech but enough to appreciate computers can be touchy, and my new router seems to be working fine for the most part. However, I’m wondering whether what I’ve encountered suggests a substantial deviation from the norm? In other words, did I end up with a lemon?

I’ve been configuring this router that I just purchased in the last few days. Two times in the last 72 hours I have had to factory reset and start all over again with admin configuration (fortunately after the first event I discovered how to download a configuration file). During each of the two events, I made some changes in the admin settings, then applied them – and was eventually timed out of access to the admin page and was unable to regain access to the admin page.

I’m no techie and am new to much of this. I’ve been following M. Horowitz’s guide on router security to set things up. I think the first event may have occurred from setting a firewall rule in the wrong place, and if so, that’s on me. The second event a few minutes ago, however, occurred after I simply changed the web session timeout from its 4 hour default to a 1 hour default. I then encountered a really long spinning arrow as the change was applied, and eventually was booted off of admin and was unable to connect back to the admin page; I also lost internet connection. A reboot of my computer accomplished nothing. So I had to go back to factory default and then upload my saved configuration file. (I would note that before affecting the web default timer change I had played with settings on other pages but without saving or applying them, so I don’t know if that somehow overloaded the router/firmware ability).