Peplink Balance 20; SIP routed over WAN2? and WAN speed setting questions

I’m new to the Peplink family, but it is doing great so far helping keep VoIP connections up and running in a small office.

I noticed that SIP is all being routed over WAN2, the slower ADSL 6/768k line. I have WAN1 and 2 both active.

1. Is this routing selected by the Peplink 20 by some logic or is it random?
  2. A related question: is it advisable to configure WAN links with sub-maximum speeds in the settings page? For example, instead of setting the WAN2 as 6/768k in settings, setting it as 5/512k. Is this recommended or is the Peplink wise enough to understand the limitations of sold speeds vs actual?

I believe by default it routes based on latency. You’ll have to define a custom outbound policy and either force the sip over the faster link or set it to weighted and play with those values to get it to go where you want it to.

Hello,

Which WAN is used for outbound connections is controlled by “Outbound Policy” under the Network tab. As already mentioned the default policy is “Least Latency” which picks the WAN with lowest latency. You can create protocol specific rules to override the default policy. For example create a rule matching SIP traffic using the priority algorithm to prioritize which WAN connection is used. You can also modify your default rule to use weighted policy making use of all WAN connections at the same time.

Thanks,
-Jonan
-Peplink

The default policy for outbound shows as HIGH APPLICATION AVAILABILITY. I don’t believe I’ve changed any settings here. I did receive an email a few days ago that WAN1 was down for a few minutes. I imagine that since the VOIP phones stuck around the link stayed with WAN2 since the outage? Or is it just a lower latency and the Peplink 20 knows to put VOIP on lowest latency WAN?