One-Way Audio on Soho Surf

Hi All,

I’m new to the Peplink community, but I’m excited to learn. I’ve grabbed 3 Soho Surf’s to start cutting my teeth on.

After playing around with these for awhile, I think I have most of the basics figured out. I’d like to start deploying these in some of my small business customers that will be doing a wide range of things, one of them being handle their voip, which is a cloud-based PBX.

In my initial trials, things seemed to go well. But yesterday I deployed one in a customer’s store as a test site. Prior to deployment, they were using a Linksys router, and everything else was already in place, including their voip system. The only thing I replaced was the router, which I swapped in one of my Soho Surf’s.

As soon as I threw in the Soho Surf, I started having one-way audio issues, and only on outbound calls. Inbound calls worked fine. On an outbound call (and it is every outbound call) the caller can not hear anything, including the ringing while placing the call. The callee can hear the audio just fine.

I will note that in searching the web, including this forum, I found several mentions to make sure to go to the Advanced → Service Passthrough → SIP and set the selection to Compatibility Mode, which I had already done.

So, again, I’m sure it is something within the Soho Surf settings, because as soon as I swap out the Soho Surf and replace the Linksys router, everything works fine. I made the swap several times just to be sure.

I’m sure it is something simple, but I just can’t find it. I know there is probably much more information I need to provide about my current setup, but being a newbie, I’m not sure what information would be helpful here. So if someone can help, I’m more than happy to provide whatever additional information I can to help. I’ll also list relevant information about my system below that I’m sure people who help will want to know.

Thanks in advance for your help and patience.

Thanks,

Phil