Noob question about accessing home based wireguard vpn

Hello! I recently completed setting up a wireguard vpn at my home to access when I am on the road. I have never done anything like this before so I am surprised I made it this far. I am at a loss at what I need to do with my surf soho in order to access the vpn from outside my network. From what I can tell, I need to set up port forwarding, but I don’t know what I need to do exactly. Can anyone guide me?

I hope I’m asking the right questin. I am a noob to port forwarding. I think this is what I need to accomplish to complete my wireguard setup. Thank you for your assistance!

Hi - welcome to the forum!

Excellent!

I assume the surf soho is the gateway router in your home yes?

In which case, when you setup wireguard you will have set a listen port number for the service on the oc you installed it on. ON the soho you need to add a new service and tell it which port to forwardd.

See page 59 of https://download.peplink.com/manual/pepwave_surf_soho_user_manual_fw7.pdf for more details.

1 Like

Hi @surfy. In addition to the good explanation you received from @MartinLangmaid, may I suggest another approach for your consideration? Your Peplink/Pepwave router can host a VPN “all by itself” and do it well with a minimum amount of fiddling and no “extra” equipment to purchase or configure. No port forwarding. Here’s a screenshot of a Balance router set up for L2TP, for example:

Just an option … :grinning:

2 Likes

Hi Guys, thanks again for helping me out. @Rick-DC I would have used the built in vpn, but I wanted to try out wireguard, so I went with that option for now.