NO to InControl - Need alternative path for 6.1 firmware upgrade!

I will not hand over control or even partial control of my internet router device to pepwave with whom I have no knowledge or association. This appears to NOW BE A REQUIREMENT for 6.1 firmware upgrade that is needed to fix stuff that IS BROKEN with the current MAX BR1 LTE firmware 6.0.3. I actually found one of your bugs for you which doesn’t say much for your testing methodology. The mandate to blindly hand over control of my device to pepwave in order to fix/upgrade a broken firmware is draconian. Given the relatively high retail purchase price of pepwave MAX BR1 devices I demand an alternative upgrade path that DOESN’T involve “INCONTROL”. In fact I am perfectly OK with staying at firmware 6.0.3 as long as I can patch the broken MAC address ACL problem inherent to that release. I don’t mind registering a device serial number for record keeping purposes but this “6.1 upgrade” scenario it seems, and correct me if I’m wrong, gives Pepwave carte blanche access to my 4G router. I HAVE NO USE FOR INCONTROL AND CURRENTLY HAVE ITS ACCESS DENIED IN THE CURRENT FIRMWARE FOR REASONS STATED ABOVE.

A RESPONSE IS REQUIRED WITH A DETAILED EXPLANATION OF EXACTLY WHAT “INCONTROL” DOES AND ITS CAPABILITIES WITH RESPECT TO DEPTH OF ACCESS TO PRIVATE DEVICES THAT CONTAIN SENSITIVE INFORMATION.

Let me clarify.

InControl is NOT a requirement to the 6.1 upgrade. As a customer, you have full control over turning on the InControl function in your Peplink/Pepwave devices.

The path to the 6.x upgrade (for applicable, but out of warranty devices) is by purchasing the respective extended warranty. 6.x upgrade is free to applicable models which are in warranty.

We just make use of InControl to provide a convenient, self-service portal for customers to check their device warranty status. Managing your devices under InControl is completely optional and at the discretion of customers.