Newbie question(s) reguarding BL-135

I’ve been tasked to find a load balancing, fail-over, aggregating device for my employer. I’m rather new to this level of network sophistication. We have 10 Viasat connections (34D/4U; bridge-mode; DHCP “persistent IP address”; public-IP) due to the location of our facility; fiber should be coming in three months.

I have been looking at the BL-135 device, as it can handle the number of connections at our facility. However, I do have some questions on functionality, and expected behavior due to my own knowledge-gaps.

I’ve attached an over-simplified diagram of our setup, in case my description is unclear. My main hypothetical scenario: The “Remote video access client” wants to review video from our NVR; they would need one of the X public facing IP addresses from the Viasat connections, where X is the number of links setup with proper port-forwarding. For the hypothetical, lets assume X is links 0-3. The “Remote video access client,” connects link-0 to review video; while in session link-0 drops, would the remote user see their connection to our NVR drop, or would the BL-135 perform magic and keep the session alive? I’m guessing the session would be dropped, but the remote user could reconnect using another IP address in links1-3.

Thank you for your time and helping me understand expected behaviors.

Welcome to the forum!

Their session would drop.

For inbound session persistence you really want to be using Speedfusion VPN between your balance router and a cloud hosted virtual appliance. Then the remote video user would connect in via the static public IP of the hosted virtual appliance which would then use any available WAN on the balance. If A wan link failed then the session should be persistent with data routed at a packet levle over an alternate WAN link.

1 Like

Hello @jcloud,