More Security in Balance 30 LTE

How soon could Peplink add more Security features to the Balance 30 LTE? Not looking to replace customer’s firewall, just trying to win more deals against ZyXel and others who provide better Security in their smaller products for SMB customers. This would make the Balance 30 LTE a “best value” option for small offices.

Hi,

We do have feature like firewall, IP Spoofing detection, Intrusion Detection and DoS Prevention and etc. Can you share what kind of security features you are looking for?

Thanks for the response TK . . I am far from an expert on Security features, all I can tell you is that we have a partner who sells ZyXel routers and we have been trying to get him to sell Peplink instead. He tells me that the ZyXel USG-50 and 110 do similar routing to Peplink, but have far better Security features. He agrees that his ZyXel does dual WAN failover vs Peplink’s bonding, but feels the Security features are more important than a rare failover incident. Suggestion: maybe Peplink can create a Competitive Info page on your website to help us quickly identify “strengths & weaknesses” of Peplink versus your top competitors.

These 2 devices are meant to compliment one another instead of competing against.

ZyXel USG110 can be classified as NGFW (Next-Gen Firewall), another similar term will be UTM (Unified Threat Management) firewall. These are primarily focused on security features, revolved around managing local users, while our multi-WAN load-balancer are more about WAN availability and redundancy, revolved around making sure your internet/VPN connections are always available.

Nowadays most of these Next-Gen or UTM firewalls in the market can support up to dual-WAN, but there’s less focus in load-balancing capabilities like the number of WANs they can support up to, as well as load-balancing algorithm’s options and features.