MAX BR2-Pro POE+ Trouble

Hello everyone,

this is my first post - already searched the forum regarding this topic, but could not find anything.

I am struggling with POE+ on the BR2-Pro. When using the standard power adapter everthing work fine, but not if am using a POE+ switch (Netgear GS305EP and TP-Link SG1005P) to power it.
The unit boots up and keeps running until I do the inbult Speedfusion Speedtest. Then after a variating point of time the device restarts. It feels as if it does not get enough power. Measured that with an inline POE tester - at least the voltage never went below 53,8V.
I have already tested different types of cable (which are certified for POE+. for example Cat 7 4x2xAWG27/7 - 5 metres) but I did not find a cable yet that works.

So my question is: is the BR2-Pro kind of picky regarding the type of cable when powering it over POE, or could there be something else that I am missing?

Best regards,

Benjamin

Let me preface with - I am not an expert with POE stuff…… I just didn’t want you to think that nobody heard you.

it sounding like there is some power fluctuations at the device. Just out of curiosity - are you powering the POE switch with a UPS? A surge protector? Any other power outlet “sharing” device?

how many POE devices are you powering with your POE switch? Neither of the switches seemed to have a huge total power budget - but, they should be able to support this device without issue. I am wondering if all the POE ports are being utilized. The Netgear switch seems to cut power to one interface if the budget is exceeded - is it possible that is what is going on?

if you aren’t straining the POE source and there is an adequate power supply to the POE switch - you may want to start a support ticket - there may be something faulty with the hardware causing it to power cycle itself. It may be specific to the POE circuitry.