Inbound balancing, VPN, and NAT

Hi I am new to Peplink and would just like to confirm a few things I am unclear on. I would like to connect two remote offices to the HQ. We are small so only a few users in each site. The remote sites have DSL lines with single static IP addresses. The HQ has a 10Mb line provided by wireless which is proving unreliable. We have a DSL backup also with a single static IP address. The only inbound services are on the 10Mb line but there are site-to-site VPNs from each remote site. I’d like to achieve a situation where inbound services and the VPN connections from the remote sites would automatically fail over between the two lines at the HQ. So my questions are: 1. I understand the Peplinks can be on a NAT’d address and the VPN links still work but would this cause any issues for the DNS services for inbound balancing? Would that need public IP addresses for the WAN interfaces? 2. I know I need a 210 for the HQ (for inbound balancing) but what is the minimum for the remote sites? My understanding is the 20 only does IPSEC VPN and presume this wouldn’t failover as only one tunnel would be possible. If I’m right Speedfusion is needed for failover in which case all three sites would need a 210. Is that correct? 3. The remote sites only have one line and if anything would only have a USB modem as a backup which would be a dynamic IP address and not ‘always on.’ So, is only one line OK for the remote sites and Speedfusion with a tunnel to each of the WAN links at the HQ? 4. The DSL lines are configured as negotiated but always receive the same IP so are effectively static IP addresses. Could the Peplinks be configured like this or would VPN/balancing be prevented where DHCP was selected for a WAN interface? Thanks in advance for your help. Tom

Any thoughts on any of this? Any help gratefully accepted.

Thanks,

Tom

Hi Tom.

Herewith a few comments.