I suspect my Balance 20 is not working properly -- how to tell?

Hello, I am a tech newbie so please bear with me.

I have suspected for a long time that my Bal20 is not working properly. It is fed by two internet modems: Att Uverse and Comcast Xfinity. Today when the Comcast technician was here in the house doing some work, she disconnected the Comcast feed which shut down the Comcast internet. I know that my Uverse connection is working, because I can connect to the Uverse internal wifi with my portable device and get a solid connection. So when the Comcast internet was down today, I expected that the Bal20 would switch over to the Uverse connection and that I would have uninterrupted internet connection. But that was not the case! There was no internet connection at all during this period, until the Comcast internet was re-established.

Also, when I start a web browser on a computer that is connected with the Peplink Balance through the LAN and try connecting to the Web Admin Interface (using http://192.168.1.1) I cannot establish a connection. I get: “This webpage is not available” message.

In advance, thanks for any tips or pointers.

RM

Hi RM,

I suspect you are connected to somewhere…

1. What IP you get if connected to the Uverse internal wifi?

2. You are using laptop to browse http://192.168.1.1? If yes, may I know laptop having wired and wireless connection at the same time during the problem occur? What is the IP you get for both wired and wireless connection?

Hi TK.

1. If connected to Uverse internal wifi I get the External IP: 108.200.22.93 and Internal IP: 192.168.1.65

2. I am not using laptop to browse http://192.168.1.1. I am using desktop computer connected to LAN via Ethernet cable.

3. For desktop computer wired connection, I am getting IP information from IP Chicken as follows:

Current IP address: 98.203.11.117
Name Address: c-98-203-11-117.hsd1.fl.comcast.net
Remote Port: 51114