HTTPS: Web Admin Access: Firefox Security Exception

Hi All,

I am just getting started with my max-on-the-go and want to first establish a https connection to the Web Admin using only my LAN connection. I am running Firmware: 7.0.3. I am getting a message on my Firefox browser asking if I want to make an exception.

My understanding is that Peplink is just saying to add an exception in Firefox and that this is perfectly safe. However my question is why doesn’t Peplink take the necessary steps so that Firefox and other browsers recognize my IP address?

Also…if Peplink is stating that adding the exception is a perfectly safe and secure action to take, shouldn’t that guidance belong in an official manual somewhere?

Thanks

Have a look here Help enabling HTTPS on admin interface - #2 by sitloongs

A public certificate authority can not assign certificates for a private IP address. The way some vendors do this is to set up a default DNS entry that can be used to access the device locally and then produce a self signed cert for that fake domain (ie https://mydevice.peplink.local) which is far more insecure in my opinion.

Yes it should be added.

2 Likes

So just to confirm…since I know that the IP address is the correct one for my router; I can feel assured in confirming the security exception in my Firefox browser.

Thanks

Yes. For the reasons @MartinLangmaid provided, it is safe to do that. Many of us find it a bit uncomfortable, but it’s OK. Actually, not doing so and using a HTTP (vs HTTPS) is a worse alternative.

Firefox is merely calling your attention to a possible “issue” and asking you to resolve it.

2 Likes