FusionHub on linode

I found no information here about getting FusionHub running on a linode VPS, so decided to figure it out on my own. I’ve been using linode as my preferred VPS since early 2003, and always been very happy with them. I appreciate that there’s a generous amount of data included in each plan before data billing starts to occur, allowing for better budget planning. Decoding the billing for AWS and Azure is frustrating at best.

I chose to go with the Linode 2048 plan, as it includes 2TB of data transfer per month, and a VPN hub is going to be more data intensive.

The installation manual for FusionHub was somewhat helpful, and this linode document contained very useful information as well.

First, get the FusionHub installer (a .zip file) and unzip it. Then dig into it and find the .vhd file in the VHD directory, and see its size. The .vhd file is basically a raw disk image of an MBR partitioned drive.

You do not need to make the ‘installer’ disk and profile, but you do need to make the ‘boot’ disk and profile. The ‘boot’ raw disk container should be AT LEAST the size of the VHD. I made mine 410MB because I’m paranoid, and the VHD file was 400MB.

I then did the rescue boot as documented, copied the .vhd file into the booted system, then did a dd into the disk container.
# dd if=fusionhub.vhd of=/dev/sda

You should be able to run the command fdisk -l /dev/sda and see a normal looking linux MBR partition table.

At this point, shut down the rescue boot, then boot the profile you created. Connect via lish or glish, and you can run the initial setup, then connect via web browser and continue the setup, and then use it in incontrol2 just like any normal fusionhub vm.

I hope this is helpful to others.
jim

8 Likes

Hi Jim, thanks for sharing this with the community!

1 Like