Feedback on Pepwave MAX BR1 MK2 7.1.1

Hello,

I’m new to the Pepwave and love it, it is the answer to my world in a RV and getting much better connectivity. I run a software business so connectivity is vital to my roaming office setup. My feedback is based on firmware 7.1.1.

I’m coming from a WiFi Ranger (WFR) product which has worked well but the Pepwave is much more polished, enterprise, and with the cellular modem an all around better solution. But some things with the Pepwave could be improved from a usability standpoint, keep in mind I’m a software developer so UI/UX is my passion as well.

1. I have two SIM cards in my system, one for Verizon and one for AT&T. I don’t always want the system to be switching based on signal strength. Maybe I am getting to a campground and want to test both networks and see which is best and lock in on that one. Maybe I’m driving and I see a slow down and want to switch to the other on command. I understand the priority order of WiFi, Cellular, etc. but Cellular A and B are not separated, it’s lumped as just a Cellular source as obviously in your design you’re thinking one modem. I’m thinking two networks though. What I liked in the WiFi ranger setup was I could command a connection to anything I wanted at any time. Yes, there are failover options but if I want to connect to my WiFi 5 Ghz node in standby now, give me a connect button so I can connect on demand now. If you broke out Cellular SIM A and SIM B in the network view, I could command a connection to either one of those at this top level. You get the gist. So essentially a commanded connection puts it as the priority source. You could add a setting that when a connection is manually connected then failover is no longer in play OR the connected source will remain connected until it fails and then failover takes over.