Domain Name (Outbound Policy)

Hi everyone… I’m new to this peplink balance thing… Loving it so far :). I have a peplink balance 30 and two internet connections… One unlimited and the other not so much…lol. I am trying to force any device using netflix, hulu or epixhd to the ulimited connection. Outbound policy is working flawless for most simple domains, etc, netflix., hulu.,youtube.com, etc. The issue i am having are with long domains. The one in question is - ec2-107-23-161-245.compute-1.amazonaws.com -. I have tried both amazonaws.com and amazonaws.*, neither wildcard seems to force the domain to the selected connection. My question would be what would be the correct wildcard to use in outbound policy for that long domain.

I think the Amazon cloud can be a tricky thing. If you only have a few devices accessing it, you could simply create your rule based on the source IP of the device(s) instead of destination domain.
Source: IP address of the device (ie 192.168.1.100) You can setup a DHCP reservation if you haven’t already.
Destination: Any
Protocol: Any
Algorithm: Priority or Enforced

Ok lets just assume that domain was the only domain amazon cloud had… what would be the wildcard you will use to enforce that domain to a specific WAN connection.

Regarding the rule for source IP I have done it and got it to work. But I do have more than 10 devices that uses amazon, Hulu, Netflix etc. and would really like a much easier option. Just help me understand some of the wildcard combinations I can use regarding LONG domain names… and a perfect example would be the amazon one. “ec2-107-23-161-245.compute-1.amazonaws.com

Hi,

I believe “ec2-107-23-161-245.compute-1.amazonaws.com” is a special case. Please allow us to have more time to do investigation. I tested with others domain and all are working fine.

Wildcard usage for domain name:-