Discovered a MAJOR, really irritating bug

Hi there.

Im new to the peplink family and the forums but definitely not new to networking. I am a licensed communications contractor and work on technology and networks for a living.

I have a peplink balance20x at my home that has been working great for a month or so and i really like it. was happy to finally get rid of the POS netgear nighthawk that used to work great.

I have comcast for hardwired internet and AT&T SIM card for cellular backup. couple weeks ago comcast went down for “routine maintenance” in the middle of the night, the router notified me, switched to AT&T and then comcast came back up some time later. Everything worked flawlessly

Fast forward to early this morning 12:21am, comcast went down again for “routine maintenance” according to their website and stated should be back up by 6am

I get up about 7am and discover router still on cellular and im not getting public IP from comcast. rebooted everything over and over to no avail

went round and round with tech support at comcast which was worthless. they werent much help.

finally i decided to look at my modem logs to see if i noticed anything.

low and behold discovered that the “learned” mac address (should be mac of WAN port on router), was that of a wireless client on my network. this was really odd. the router was not passing its WAN mac to the modem. So i disconnected all wireless clients, rebooted, and still no comcast public IP. connected to modem and this time the modem had a “learned” mac address that belonged to the LAN mac of the router. WTH

so i cloned the LAN mac to the WAN mac and was able to get back online.

but this is nuts. MAJOR bug. see screenshots below…

not able to upload photos for some reason…

Well that is proper strange, and you don’t have IP passthrough enabled or anything like that?

As a new account you should be able to post pictures once you get this response.

1 Like