Cat 18 and super slow speeds - AT&T

I am new to the pepwave market. I recently purchased a cat18 as everything I have read made this seem like it would really help us work from home while we travel. However, I am not getting usable speeds most of the time and am just unsure that this investment was the right one. Using my nighthawk hotspot I was seeing roughly 5mbps down in this high congested area we are staying at. So far with the Peplink I am only seeing usually 1mbps to 5mbps. Often times the hotspot is outperforming the peplink! Is that normal? Is there a setting etc that I am missing? I have tried switching to LTE only vs auto, tried manually selecting specific bands, I got desperate and tried to adjust APN settings to see if that would somehow change anything… So far nothing I have tried has improved performance or speed. Further more, the last time I truly relied on this router for stability it disconnected and dropped me in my single video conference call 3 times. I finally just had to hotspot off my phone to finish my meeting. For this to have so much band capability and potential speed I must say my experience has been very underwhelming.

General information that might help:
Peplink Max Cat 18
Service: AT&T 100GB Data only plan for $55 or something like that
Using the 6 antennas that came with the unit, not the 7 in 1.
Location: Orlando (Great service, usually full or most bars but heavy congestion)
Best APN setting so far: NXTGENPHONE (tried broadband, .NT, fast.t-mobile.com)

I am truly hoping there is user error going on here and that someone can tell me that they have had much better experiences or what they did to overcome a potential learning curve I might be experiencing. Thank you in advance to any help as I truly am desperate at this point. If I can’t solve my internet solution, my work is going to pull the plug on my travel life and I am trying everything I can to avoid that.