Cameras lose connection to NVR with br1

Newbie here…Recently installed a small Avigilon VMA-RPO appliance with three cameras. Everything connected up just fine using 192.168.50.10 for the NVR, .20-.22 for the cameras. Recorded successfully for a few days while I waited for the BR1 mini to arrive. Once connected to the BR1 mini the NVR IP address changes to the static address assigned to the verizon sim card. Internet works great, but the camera lose the connection to the nvr.

Now the NVR address shows 166.208.. in-spite of the statically assigned 192.168.50.10. The cameras remain on the 192. network, and are visible in the camera connect tool, but cannot be connected. If I pull the ethernet connection to the BR1 the NVR reverts to the 192. address, but the cameras won’t reconnect…ARGH!!

Wondering if the cameras need to be set to match the addressing scheme of the static address? If so, how would one identify the correct subnet and gateway? And what networking changes would need to made to the NVR and cameras in order for the cameras to remain connected to the NVR, AND retain the internet connection?

Holy Cow…this was SUPPOSED to be easy…lol

Please help!

Ok, so sounds like you have IP passthrough enabled on the BR1 which is giving the NVR a public IP from the Verizon SIM. Assume you have done that on purpose to give you remote access?

If so then I suspect the way this is meant to work is the cameras should connect to the physical ports on the VMA-PRO, the uplink port on the VMA-PRO should connect to the BR1 then it gets a public IP from verizon but the cameras are on a private IP range provided by the VMA-PRO.

How are the cameras currently physically connected?

And welcome to the forum!

1 Like

Martin, thanks for the welcome and the response!