Big Hosted VOIP Network

We are in the process of building a completely new local network parallel to an existing data network in a hospital for Hosted VOIP. There will be all brand new Cat5e for every floor for every building with fiber from each floor down to the Com Room connected via fiber to Ethernet converters into a master switch that will lead into a Balance 1350. There are also 3 other buildings with hundreds of phones that will be connected back the main Com Room in Main building via Fiber. We have 3 Gig ISP circuits ready to go for fail over capabilities.

We pretty much have everything down pat in terms of Physically setting up the proper way, well atleast in my eyes, but I have a few questions and was wondering if anyone has a lot of experience with VLANs. I have some experience but only in creating 2 at most, not a network that requires around 10 VLANs. I am planning on using HP Procurve J9727A’s and J9729A’s mostly because I have had great experiences with them in the past with reliability and I know the Web GUI. These are also all POE and Gig.

I was going to make a VLAN for every 2-3 floors or so because each floor has about 80 phones.

I need insight on 2 things:

1. What would be the best way t VLAN this environment in terms of tagging and untagging which ports on every switch and all these switches will be leading to a master switch.
  2. Any recommendations on a master switch, it’s going to need to be minimum 24 ports, all gig, not poe, web GUI manageable, extremely reliable, cost doesn’t matter, and not cisco.

*Another thing is I am planning on having another brand new 1350 racked right underneath the main 1350 for HA capability with exact settings as the master. If the Master goes down for whatever reason, how fast can the slave take over? Because having 2000+ phones for a hospital go down may not go over so well with people that are dying or emergencies.