Best load balancing settings for non-CIR connections

Hey there. I had a bit of an epiphany tonight. I kind of feel dumb not finding this sooner. I have been using a Peplink balance 30 for 3 years and recently upgraded to a Balance One Core. I have two radio links to the same ISP. On uses a better transmitter than the other. I have 26/4 on one and 16/4 on the other.

I have tried to get the Overflow algorithm to work, but it never behaved as I expected. When I download three movies from iTunes to an iPad, all three downloads would end up on one link. That’s strange, I can tell the link is saturated, why can’t the router? Well, because I very rarely ever see my peak download speeds. Both connections are best effort (not CIR - guaranteed throughput). Because I had set the upload and download limits to indicate the POTENTIAL highest speed AND I am rarely ever to see those speeds - the router never labeled the link as “saturated”. So all new outbound connections went out the same wan link.

Simple enough, I will just set the values to half of what they are capable of for upload and download. This left me with 13/2 and 8/2. Well, now it is utilizing both links but the download speeds still suck. I go do some forum browsing and stumble across a post that indicated the router won’t throttle download speeds based on the WAN configured speed values, but it will throttle the Upload stuff. I checked the iPads upload throughout and it is right at 4 mbps. So, the download is being limited by not being able to send tcp responses back out. I changed the upload values back to 4 for both links. I am getting full throughout on both links concurrently. What a wonderful day.

Long story short - if you don’t have guaranteed throughout rates, don’t put the maximum in the download limit - put what you realistically can expect during peak hours. However, since the upload limit is enforced by the router - make sure it is set as close to the maximum that your ISP claims.