Access to MAX BR1 Mini with a dynamic cellular IP?

Before I start pulling teeth with purchasing to obtain SIM cards with static IP addresses, I’m wondering if there is a feature or Pepwave service to allow access from the cellular WAN to the LAN ports when the SIM card has a dynamic address that resets every time the modem power is cycled.

I’m familiar with everything else I need to do to accomplish this given a static IP address to access, but I’m new to any feature that might allow this with a dynamic IP.

As long as the dynamic IP address is routable you should be able to achieve the same functionality as with a statically assigned IP address. Peplink (through IC2) provides dynamic DNS resolution for changing IP adresses, as does other third-party providers.

If the address is not routable (e.g., your ISP employs CGNAT, which I assume is the most likely scenario) then an option is to deploy a FusionHub with a routable IP and then routing access via the FusionHub and a SpeedFusion connection across the cellular connection to then WAN port of the router.

Cheers,

Z

1 Like

To be clear, you just want to be able to access the Peplink GUI remotely?

I’d just get an InControl2 subscription for the device if that is the case, for the BR1 this will be very inexpensive and you can take advantage of all the nice remote monitoring and control options that Ic2 gives you along with the WebGUI remote access via a proxy run by Peplink.

https://estore.peplink.com/products/ics-012

If however you mean you want to be able to access devices behind the BR1 then you might want to look into deploying a FusionHub Solo somewhere like Vultr or Digital Ocean. The hub would have a static public IP, you’d build a PepVPN tunnel to the BR1 and you can then do port forwarding from the IP of the hub to devices behind the BR1.