VoiceOver Guy Looking For The Right Setup For Boondocking

Hi,

Someone in another forum recommended I come here and see what people had to say. I am a voice over artist who is building out a Class B van with acoustics in mind so that I can continue to do my work while being in the middle of nowhere (but in range of cell signal, of course). I’m not a tech person by any stretch and I am bouncing around the internet trying to find the right setup for my needs. At times it seems like using a basic hotspot or even tethering to my phone will be fine. Other times I’m like, hmm, people are saying I should get dual modems so I can “load balance” or achieve “bonding.” I don’t think I require Speedfusion Cloud, if the session drops, it’s okay and I can reconnect and everyone will be okay with that. But what I’m hearing is that somehow a dual modem setup with 4x4 mimo antenna will allow the max transit duo to achieve more signal and better speeds.

I use Source Connect for work. Here is a page they have for requirements: https://support.source-elements.com/show/sourceconnect-and-mobile-connections-united-states

However the page is a little misleading. Most of the time I’m in a session the bottom of the program window reads, “ports not mapped.” They also have a new feature where, as long as both ends of the connection are using Apple products, you can select and option called Source Stream which eliminates the need for port mapping. Further, I troubleshot with a woman from Source Elements and she said, there’s never any need for port forwarding when someone is trying to connect more lo-fi, as in using a cell phone as a hotspot (as I did on my call with her). She said she guesses there are just fewer complicating elements and “firewalls” in cell phones. Essentially she told me as long as I’m getting 3mbps up and down and the ping/latency is ok, I’m golden.

It would be really cool to use your products and do voice overs from the road. A nice use case.