Speed Issues - Pepwave MAX Transit Wan

Hello,

I am new to the device that I recently purchased for my RV travels (Pepwave Max Transit) but am in IT support by trade and quite frustrated with the speeds available on my Pepwave Duo.

I have connected to both a 2.4 and 5ghz version of a very strong connection at a friend’s house within a decent range of their router/AP and am capping speeds at 20mb down on an 200+ connection. Ii’ve exhausted all settings and troubleshooting I can think of and have made very minimal changes on the device since setup. Help!

Device Name MAX-TST-B191
Model Pepwave MAX Transit
Product Code MAX-TST-DUO-LTEA-W-T-PRM
Hardware Revision 2
Firmware 8.1.0 build 4943
PepVPN Version 8.0.0

Same here. My house has 485 down when inside. Outside my rv and house but hooked to rv max transit (in my rv parked in front) I get less than 20 down although it has my house ssid as primary. If I change while in same physical location to house said, I get 185 down.

I don’t necessarily recommend what I did to solve the problem, but being in IT for as long as I’ve been, I know using the same radio as a client-bridge and as an AP tends to result in relatively poor performance so I bought an AP One - AX for my client coverage and only use the rooftop for bridging unless I’m out somewhere with cellular only and I want the better wifi outside. Super easy to toggle the AP on and off on the built-in while not bothering the AP One.

3 Likes

This is the correct answer. Also, turn Speedfusion and any other tunnel off whether directing traffic to it or not - the CPU on the MTD is not very powerful.

I don’t know I really understand the answers here. So use an entirely different device for WiFi connections and disregard roof antenna?

Leaving the other 7 connections hooked to peplink but effectively only using the cellular?