Multiple External Antennas for Multiple Locations

Hi! I’m new to Pepwave and new to the forums. I have been reading posts and articles here, as well as watching Peplink’s Youtube channel. I am with a Live Events AV company in the Eastern USA, and we have a MAX-HD4 LTEA-W-T. Right now we have a single SIM card in each modem, 2 from AT&T and 2 from Verizon. We also have a FusionHub instance and a SpeedFusion VPN set up between the HD4 and the FusionHub instance.

Our use for the HD4 will be to provide a solid internet connection for video streaming (primarily outbound) when the client needs a more robust connection. As such, all of the Cell, WAN, and WiFi connections are set to the same priority in SpeedFusion. Our location will vary from event to event, as well as our access to the outdoors (some convention center ballrooms are pretty far from outside access). I used the HD4 at an event this week and was pleased with the results. The location had internet with 10 Gbps upload, and with the HD4 we had 16-20 Gbps up during the event.

So, with that context, I have questions about antennas.

1. Will an external antenna always give me a better signal? I am often surprised at how poor the RSRP number is as I move the HD4 around at a site. Will an Omnidirectional MIMO 2x2 antenna always improve my signal? I am still trying to understand how the RSRQ and SINR numbers are also affected by location and the antenna.
  2. Is there a situation where I would use some paddles on the unit and some external?
    3.If I do use external antennas, I am looking at 4 or 8 antennas. (Four MIMO 2x2 being the better idea). I understand now that they could cause interference with each other, but in the interest of convenience, equipment, and cost, what is the minimum distance I can mount them in relation to each other for 4G LTE bands? Would omnidirectional domes need to be mounted vertically from each other for maximum effectiveness? Or would arranging them horizontally be OK?