BR1 mini AT&T setup for better speeds

I’ve been running a br1 mini on AT&T’s network for a couple months now and want to know if there are any settings I need to implement to get better speeds. I have a SureCall Wide-Band Yagi (SC-230W) antenna plugged in to get a better signal.

This is setup at my home and is my primary internet connection due to a lack of anything else available. Speed tests are usually in the 8-10/6-8mbps at off peak times and drop to 1-2 down during most of the day. I have an unlimited data plan so I’m not worried about data caps.

I am running the latest firmware and the only setting I really had to configure was changing the APN to BROADBAND, per request from AT&T.

Thanks,
Bill

1 Like

The fact that you are getting good speeds off peak and poor speeds during the day suggests that there are a lot of users on the cell tower you are connected to. Nothing much you can do about that.

What are the LTE signal readings on your BR1 Mini? The RSRQ and RSRP and the SNR in particular? get those readings during off peak and during the day periods for comparison and post here so we can review it.

3 Likes

Current readings while in a state of 1/1 mbps speeds. RSRQ: -17dB, RSRP: -98dBm, SINR: -1dB, RSSI: -69dBm.

Readings the other night when things were going much faster, 6-8/6-8. RSRQ: -13dB, RSRP: -99dBm, SINR: 2dB, RSSI: -69dBm.

Something worth noting, my current slow speeds on speedtest.net (which are consistent with dog slow browsing, etc.) are not consistent with what my br1 says and also what my eero says. My br1 shows 4-6 down and my eero actually showed this device (my pc) as getting similar down speeds, yet speed test and general use is consistent with ~1mbps type speed. Very strange.

1 Like